

Madrid, September 29th, 2016

SPANISH SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

In accordance with article 228 of the Recast Text of the Securities Market Act, MAPFRE S.A. hereby gives notice to the Spanish Securities and Exchange Commission of the following

RELEVANT FACT

MAPFRE hereby informs that the Board of Directors of the company, at its meeting held on September 29th 2016, has approved the following resolutions, all of them effective as from January 1st 2017:

- Appoint Mr. Antonio Núñez Tovar as First Vice-Chairman of the Board of Directors and the Steering Committee, replacing Mr. Esteban Tejera Montalvo, as a result of his retirement on December 31st 2016.
- Appoint Ms. Catalina Miñarro Brugarolas as Second Vice-Chairwoman of the Board of Directors and the Steering Committee, replacing Mr. Antonio Núñez Tovar.
- Appoint Ms. Catalina Miñarro Brugarolas as Independent Coordinating Director, replacing Mr. Rafael Beca Borrego.
- Appoint Mr. Fernando Mata Verdejo as member of the Board of Directors, replacing Mr. Esteban Tejera Montalvo, as a result of his retirement on December 31st, 2016.
- Appoint Ms. Ana Isabel Fernández Álvarez as member of the Risks and Compliance Committee.
- Accept the resignation of the members of the Board of Directors, Mr. Esteban Tejera Montalvo and Mr. Rafael Casas Gutiérrez as a result of their retirement on December 31st 2016, and Mr. Rafael Beca Borrego due to personal reasons.

MAPFRE

- Appoint Mr. Fernando Mata Verdejo as General Manager of the Corporate Finance Area (Chief Financial Officer).
- Appoint Mr. Jose Luis Gurtubay Francia as Deputy General Manager of the Corporate Strategy and M&A Area.
- Appoint Mr. José Manuel Corral Vázquez as Deputy General Manager of MAPFRE's Corporate Business, Clients and Innovation Area.

Ángel L. Dávila Bermejo General Counsel