

Acknowledgements and special mentions

Since the date of the previous annual report, 107 employees of MAPFRE have concluded or are about to reach the end of their active working life, as well as the following senior managers:

- Mr. Luis Leguina Cebreiros, who joined MAPFRE in 1970, and held, in succession the following positions: General Financial Comptroller, General Manager and Chief Executive of MAPFRE MUTUALIDAD, Chairman of BANCO MAPFRE, and Chairman of the Information Technology and General Services functional units.
- Mr. Sebastián Homet Duprá, who joined MAPFRE in 1965, and held, during his professional career at MAPFRE VIDA, the positions of Technical Manager, Deputy General Manager, General Manager, Chief Executive and Chairman.
- Mr. Juan Mayo Rato, who joined MAPFRE in 1985, and held the following positions: Chief Executive – General Manager at CONSULTORA ACTUARIAL Y DE PENSIONES MAPFRE VIDA, and Adjunct to the Chairman at MAPFRE VIDA.
- Mr. Luis Antonio Corcobado Llorente, who joined MAPFRE in 1972, and held, among others, the following positions: Regional Manager at MAPFRE INDUSTRIAL, Manager of the Structural Office, and Manager of the Castille – La Mancha sub centre.
- Mr. Julio Matías Martín, who joined MAPFRE in 1963, and held, among others, the following positions: Comptroller of the Centre sub centre, Administration Manager and Deputy General Manager at MAPFRE SEGUROS GENERALES.
- Mr. Fernando Segura Rodríguez, who joined MAPFRE in 1972, and held, among others, the following positions: Manager of the Centre and Western Andalusia sub centres, and Chief Executive of MAPFRE FINISTERRE
- Mr. José Benito de Vega, who joined MAPFRE in 1989, and held the following positions: Deputy General Manager at MAPFRE INVERSIÓN Sociedad de Valores and Executive Chairman of MAPFRE INVERSIÓN DOS Sociedad Gestora de Instituciones de Inversión Colectiva.
- Mr. Agustín Bernal de la Cuesta, who joined MAPFRE in 1971, and held, among others, the following positions: Manager of the Asturias and Madrid sub centres, and Chairman of MAPFRE SEGUROS GERAIS (Portugal).
- Mr. Guillermo García Castellón, who joined MAPFRE in 1969, and held, among others, the following positions: Director of the province of Murcia, Manager of the Levante sub centre, and Executive Chairman of MAPFRE CHILE.

As a result of the Corporate reorganisation carried out towards the end of 2006, the following have ceased as members of the Board of Directors of MAPFRE MUTUALIDAD and Trustees of FUNDACIÓN MAPFRE: Mr. Rafael Beca Borrego, Mr. Rafael Fontoira Suris, Mrs. Francisca Martín Tabernero, Mr. Agustín Rodríguez García, Mr. Matías Salvá Bennasar and Mr. Francisco Vallejo Vallejo; as members of the Board of Directors of MAPFRE S.A., Mr. Carlos Álvarez Jiménez, Mr. Ricardo Blanco Martínez, Mr. Victor Bultó Millet, Mr. Juan Fernández-Layos Rubio and Mr. Rafael Galarraga Solores; and as Trustees of FUNDACION MAPFRE, Mr. Carlos Álvarez Jiménez and Mr. Mariano de Diego Hernández.

Also, the following have ceased as members of the respective Boards of Directors: Mr. Sebastián Homet Duprá (MAPFRE-CAJA MADRID HOLDING and MAPFRE VIDA); Mrs. Carmen Hernando de Larramendi (MAPFRE SEGUROS GENERALES); and Mr. Alfonso Soriano Benítez de Lugo (MAPFRE VIDA). Furthermore, Mr. Alfonso Soriano Benítez de Lugo and Mr. Manuel Jordán

Martinón, have retired as Trustees of FUNDACIÓN MAPFRE GUANARTEME, although both will continue to be linked to the latter as Honorary Trustees.

In addition, Mr. José Luis Acero Benedicto (MAPFRE CAJA SALUD) no longer represents CAJA MADRID in the companies of the MAPFRE Group.

Finally, the following, for various reasons, have ceased as board members of the Regional areas: Mr. Francisco de la Rosa Moreno, Mr. Jacinto Guerrero Zafra and Mr. Antonio Shaw García (Andalusia); Mr. Emilio Eiroa García (Aragon); Mr. Luis Gómez de Pablo (Castille); Mr. Juan José Bruguera Clavero, Mr. Jesús Loro Carceller, Mr. Xavier Cairo Puigdevall and Mr. Josep Felip Colet (Catalunia); Mr. Luis Antonio Corcobado Llorente and Mr. Jesús Miguel Huertas Muñoz-Quirós (Centre); Mr. Juan Pedro Burdiel Balué, Mr. José Manuel Corral Vázquez and Mr. José Gabriel Barreiro Pérez (Galicia); Mr. César de Santiago Polo (Madrid); Mr. Sixto Jiménez Muniain and Mr. José Ramón Guerra de la Fuente (North)

MAPFRE would like to express its gratitude to all the above for their contribution. It also wishes to express its thanks to all directors, managers, employees, delegates, agents and associates, who, through their commitment and success, have made possible the excellent results achieved in 2006.

IN MEMORIAM

Since the preparation of the previous Annual Accounts, the following employees have passed away: Mr. Jesús López Martín, Mr. Ángel Martín Astiz, Mrs. Mª Dolores Rodríguez Vera, Mrs. Pilar Serrat Benito and Mr. Manuel Cabrera Cruz, Mrs. Doris Andrea López, Mr. César Augusto Liza Cumpa, Mr. José William Pérez Cevallos and Mr. José Adrián Nuila, as well as Mr. Blas Rosales Henríquez, Trustee of FUNDACIÓN MAPFRE GUANARTEME and Mr. Felipe Francisco Umaña, Board member of MAPFRE LA CENTRO AMERICANA.

MAPFRE wishes to express in this report its sincere feeling of condolence with their respective families.